Adventures of a Kidney Donor

April 11, 2010

How to Get Information on Kidney Disease and Kidney Donation

 The National Kidney Foundation is a great place for information on kidney disease and kidney transplants. They have a section on paired kidney donation, questions and answers on living donation and much more! Living Donors Online has a lot of information too.
 
The University of Michigan Transplant Center where Jackie and I will be having our surgery has a lot of good information too.  I just went to the site and it says:  “Together your kidneys filter about 50 gallons (189 liters) of blood every 24 hours!”  Wow. I had no idea. They explain their program of paired donation.

I work in a library so I am lucky to have great resources on hand.  Check with your local library to see if you have access to any of the Gale Health and Wellness databases. They include articles from medical journals and medical reference books, pamphlets and much more. If you are a Michigan resident go to mel.org.

I like reading about it because I will know what to expect. The more I know the statistics on the safety of donation the better I feel. I am not taking this lightly–I know it is pretty big surgery–but I feel confident and determined. I hope it can be done  laparoscopically, I think my odds are good for that and not the traditional incision way.  I guess the surgeons don’t always know until they begin.

I found the answer to this question, they usually take your left  kidney. I wonder why? Need to look that up.  

Go to List of Resources on Kidney Donation

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

