Adventures of a Kidney Donor

June 22, 2010

Cojo!

I just finished Steven Cojocaru’s book Glamour, Interrupted : How I Became the Best-Dressed Patient in Hollywood. Very touching and funny.  Appropriately enough I had it with me at the hospital to read between tests the day I went to U of M hospital. I was so nervous that day (not about the tests themselves but about flunking as a donor) that I couldn’t concentrate well so I have been enjoying  reading it at home.

For those of you who don’t know, Cojo is a fashion critic often seen on television on the red carpet at the Oscars etc. On telly he is frank, sassy and funny.  In the book he is all that but also displays a nice depth when discussing his kidney disease and treatment. He doesn’t hold back when talking about the physical and emotional ramifications of kidney disease. I think it’s great for donors and recpients to read. I have been reading a lot from the donor perspective. I need to read more from the recipient perspective.

Cojo was diagnosed with polycystic kidney disease in 2004. His good friend Abby gave him a kidney in January of 2005 but it had to be removed when it became infected with the Polyoma Virus. After the agony of the kidney failure and the stress of undergoing dialysis, a new donor match was found, his mother Amelie.  In October 2005 Cojo received a kidney from his mother. There have been bumps along the way but he is doing well!

Recipient Stories

For more stories: Go to Resources on Kidney Donation

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

