Adventures of a Kidney Donor

June 24, 2010

Sonia: An Inspiration!

My aunt Deb and my aunt Janet’s friend Sonia is doing great after her kidney transplant! She is in inspiration to me. She put this message on Facebook only ONE day after her surgery. Her donor is named Mahama:

“I want to thank all of you who have been praying and keeping positive thoughts for me. I am still in the hospital one day after my surgery and already feel like a new person. God is great and I am thankful for all the wonderful people He has brought to my side during this time. In particular for my angel Mahama may God Bless her always.” –Sonia

I have read that recipients start feeling better almost immediately. I CAN’T WAIT for that moment with Jackie. Wonderful.

Sonia is in need of financial help since her insurance DOES NOT cover the cost of her medications, travel to Phoenix and aftercare. Any possible donation you could manage would make a world of difference for her. Donations can be made directly to a Wells Fargo Bank (or Wachovia on the east coast). The acct # is 9422873969 For The Benefit of Sonia Rodriguez. You can also send directly to her at Alchemista, 1250 S. 4th Ave, Tucson AZ 85713 No donation is too small! I hope you can help. Thank you!

For those of you living in Tucson or Phoenix, there will be a fun dinner and show at The Westward Look with discounted rooms for anyone who wishes to spend the night. An invitation.

P.S. I swiped this pic of Sonia as a baby off of her Facebook page. CUTE!!!

Update June 27 Sonia posted this today on her Facebook page:

Good Afternoon EVERYONE! I’m finally at the hotel in Phoenix and recuperating as best I can! The incision is a doozy but worth every inch and then some. Life is wonderful! Not only has a wonderful Angel saved my life but God brought back into my life dear friends and family. He gave me incredible Doctors, Nurses and everyone at the Mayo Clinic are truly God’s hands on earth.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.