Adventures of a Kidney Donor

July 25, 2010

One of My Happiest Days Ever

Filed under: Kidney Heroes — by anne315 @ 10:00 am
Tags: , ,

I went to U of M yesterday to see Jackie.  I was bowled over by how GREAT she looks. Only three days after her transplant–it is amazing. She doesn’t look like she had major surgery!  She is doing great.  I kept telling her: “You sound and look like yourself.” I don’t know how else to explain it. I have read about how kidney recipients start feeling better almost immediately but when you see it in person with someone you love–there are not any words to describe how great it is. Her husband Doug told me that while dialysis keeps you alive it is nowhere near the function of an actual kidney.

Jackie can’t get over the fact that she doesn’t have to have dialysis. That was three or more hours per day, three days a week. Doug went to EVERY dialysis session too so both of their lives have completely changed. Their lives will be so much more free. She said a long time ago that when she got a kidney one of the first things she wanted to do was to take a trip with Doug because she would no longer be tied down by dialysis.

We were marveling at seemingly little things. Jackie can have more fluid now such as a whole smoothie instead of a small sample of one! She can also have a Diet Coke once in awhile (instead of clear pop.) She actually had a little mini can of Diet Coke when I was there and I loved seeing her drink it.

Jackie will tell you the story of how she got her kidney so fast. It is very funny and touching. We are still reeling from the events–she went from minding her own business at home to kidney surgery in about seven hours.

The kidney is doing what it is supposed to do and she comes home today! She will have follow up appointments this week and in the coming weeks as they tweak her anti-rejection drugs. She has a list a mile long of meds to take and when the nurse came in to test her on her meds she knew EVERY answer.

When the social worker asked me two months ago why I was donating a kidney, I told her it was to see Jackie walking around with her new kidney. Seeing it in real life (and so soon!) is unreal and wonderful. I am so happy I could cry. Oh wait, I did. I was trying not to blubber in front of Jackie but I slipped twice. This was one of the happiest days of my life. Really.

*The picture isn’t really of us when we were young but it’s a good symbol.

2 Comments »

  1. Such a blessing. Thanks so much for the update Anne! I would love to get together with you two once things calm down for Jackie a little bit. Love you guys!!!!!

    p.s. What does this mean for you? Are you still on a donor list?

    Comment by Sharon — July 25, 2010 @ 11:25 am |Reply

  2. anne…sooo glad to hear how well this went. and it’s beautiful to see how much you love your friend, and how dedicated you two are to each other. it’s a beautiful story, so thanks for sharing it!

    Comment by denelleh — July 26, 2010 @ 4:02 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

