Adventures of a Kidney Donor

January 20, 2011

Organ Donation: Hope After Tragedy

No news for me yet in 2011. I have a feeling that the last blood tests are not showing a match for the recipient and me. A bummer if this turns out to be the case, but it would be better to have a good match than one that is looking iffy. People will think I have been making this whole thing up! I started my tests in March last year. Chad, the coordinator at U of M told me that this whole process can take a year.

Christina-Taylor Green, the little girl tragically murdered in Tucson, saved another little girl’s life when her organs were donated. I hope it comforts the family. They sound remarkable! They are urging others to consider organ donation. 

It breaks my heart every time I see her beautiful face in the pictures we have seen in the media. She sounded like a wonderful little girl. Her legacy is a speck of hope in a sometimes very sad world.

Consider living donation or donating after you are gone:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

