Adventures of a Kidney Donor

March 14, 2011

Blood is in the Mail!

When I got home on Saturday a box was on my porch. I hadn’t ordered anything so I thought: “Yippee, a birthday present!” It was a birthday present all right, a blood drawing kit for my kidney donation. OK, it wasn’t flowers but I will take it. Hopefully by my next birthday someone out there will be off of dialysis.

Today I had blood drawn for the new donation program I am in. It is with the Alliance for Paired Donation and the University of Toledo Medical Center. This is a bigger pool of recipients so hopefully I can give this kidney away. Who knows, but hopefully it will be late Spring early Summer?

No big deal, but the phlebotomist and I were taken aback by the number of vials in the kit. Yikes! I am used to U of M just wanting a few. U of Toledo needs to keep quite a bit on file to mix with potential recipient’s blood.

Another reminder that the Lansing Kidney Walk is Sunday June 12, 2011  Look for the kidney walks in your area. Come walk or donate to a walker! (Thanks to Kiersten for this info.)

Go to List of Resources on Kidney Donation

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

