Adventures of a Kidney Donor

May 8, 2011

I’ve Got Two, So What the Hell? You Can Have One

I just love this quote.  It was made by April Capone, the mayor of East Haven, Conn. She gave one of her kidneys to Carlos Sanchez, a resident of her city. The two connected on Facebook. I saw this story on the news the other day before I left for work. I am always seeing these stories on my way out of the door and they make me cry so I get messy but that’s a nice way to make your mascara run. This is what really set me crying because it’s what this kidney donation stuff is all about:

A year later, Sanchez’s health has been restored.Capone said of Sanchez, “Carlos wasn’t my brother, but he is now.”Sanchez calls Capone his “angel.”He told CBS News, “Because of her, I’m able to see my son graduate this year.”

WOW…seeing his son graduate. I sure hope I can help someone like this one day.

There is some controversy about organ sharing on social networking sites. As with everything on the Internet, there is good and bad. I am not a professional of course, but in my opinion it can be a great way to connect when standard organ donation lists are taking too long. Then again, be careful. ALWAYS involve a hospital as soon as you can. I do not think organ donors should ever be paid. I hate to think of the poor languishing while wealthier people get organs.

Go to List of Resources on Kidney Donation

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

