Adventures of a Kidney Donor

May 18, 2011

Hope for the Wayward Kidney?

Filed under: Anne's Ramblings,Medical — by anne315 @ 5:26 pm
Tags: ,

Dr. Shuvo Roy and the artificial kidney

 Chad called from U of M and he thinks FINALLY he may have a good kidney match for me!  I have been yapping about this for a year and people will think I have been making it up so I hope this time it’s a go. I am trying not to get too excited yet. I will have one more blood test next week to make absolutely sure. Oh great, another round with the humorless phlebotomist who never remembers me at the lab! At least she draws blood well.

The thing that touched me the most is that Chad said the person is very excited! I am trying not to get TOO excited in case it falls through. What a cool thing if someone will be off dialysis. I have been thinking about this person all day. As they go to dialysis are they thinking “Soon I will be free of this!” Are they excitedly talking to their family? Wow.

In other news Kiersten (one of my kidney heroes) sent me this link about developing an artificial kidney to replace dialysis. 

The device, which would include thousands of microscopic filters as well as a bioreactor to mimic the metabolic and water-balancing roles of a real kidney, is being developed in a collaborative effort by engineers, biologists and physicians nationwide, led by Shuvo Roy, PhD, in the UCSF  (The University of California, San Francisco)Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences…

 How cool is that? It is still years away but what an exciting concept.

 Go to Resources on Kidney Donation

1 Comment »

  1. I get so excited whenever I read or hear about the advances that are being made in kidney research! It also reminds me of just how important monetary donations are to the National Kidney Foundation…to aid in research.

    Thanks for posting this!

    Comment by Jackie — June 21, 2011 @ 10:05 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

